Show Dog Judges Profiles


, Christina New South Wales,



  • ANKC:

    All Breeds

Christina's first involvement with dogs began in the early 60's accompanying her parents to shows where they exhibited German Shepherds, with other family relatives who bred and showed Rough Collies. When she was about 16yrs old she saw a "Persil" washing powder advertisement featuring a Borzoi and she promptly told her mother that she was going to buy one. The kennel prefix under which she bred was "Borzaja". Her most successful litter was her 'C', which contained 9 pups all of which became Champions with two Best in Show winners and Top Borzoi of the Year. In 1989 Christina was elected Secretary of the International Borzoi Conference (IBC) as well as Chairman of the Conference in Macon, France. She was elected President of the IBC at the conference in England in 1992 and re-elected to this position in Canada 1995 and Sydney 1998. Christina obtained her Hound licence in 1983 and has since been approved to judge all breeds at Championship level in 1999, having coordinated the Hound Group Training under Mrs Margaret Spira in 1984 & 1985. In 1986, she judged Junior showmanship at the "Sydney Royal" Show; Baby, Classic and Intermediate Sweepstakes at "Brisbane Royal" 2004. She has judged in all States of Australia, both North and South Islands of New Zealand, as well as India, Thailand, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Canada (including Lower Mainland Dog Fanciers and Ontario Sighthound Specialty). In America she has judged Best in Show in Philadelphia (1992) and Santa Fe, New Mexico (2003). She judged the Borzoi National for the BCOA in 2000 at Portland, Oregon as well as Borzois and Border Collies at Challenge Certificate level at the Welsh Kennel Club, UK in 1997. Christina will have the honour of judging dogs at the Borzoi Club Championship Show in England in 2009. Christina has been one of 15 democratically elected Directors of the Kennel Control, the Royal NSW Canine Council Ltd, for the past 10 years and held the position of President for the maximum term of three years until Nov 2003, and is currently the Senior Vice President. She is a Committee member of the Finance and Administration Committee.